Our People

Directors

Director

Maren Roman
Associate Professor
Dept. of Sustainable Biomaterials
Virginia Tech
maren.roman@vt.edu

Associate Director

Robert J. Woods
Professor
Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Dept. of Chemistry
University of Georgia
rwoods@ccrc.uga.edu

Managing Director

Linda C. Caudill
Managing Director
Fralin Life Sciences Institute
Virginia Tech
lcaudill@vt.edu

Director of Education and Outreach

Alan R. Esker
Professor and Chair
Dept. of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
aesker@vt.edu

Director of Analytical Services

Parastoo Azadi
Technical Director, Analytical Services and Training
Senior Research Scientist
Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Georgia
azadi@uga.edu

Director of Synthesis Services

Richard Helm
Associate Professor
Dept. of Biochemistry
Director, Mass Spectrometry Incubator
Virginia Tech
helmrf@vt.edu

Research Team Leads

Ab Initio Modeling

Daniel Crawford
University Distinguished Professor
Ethyl Chair of Chemistry
Director, Molecular Sciences Software Institute
Dept. of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
crawdad@vt.edu

Mesoscale Modeling

Sanket Deshmukh
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Chemical Engineering
Virginia Tech
sanketad@vt.edu

Polysaccharide Chemistry

Kevin Edgar
Professor
Dept. of Sustainable Biomaterials
Virginia Tech
kjedgar@vt.edu

Machine Learning for Data Analysis

Pengyu Hong
Professor
Dept. of Computer Science
Brandeis University
hongpeng@brandeis.edu

Process Automation

Blake Johnson
Assistant Professor
Grado Dept. of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Virginia Tech
bnj@vt.edu

Machine Learning for Process Optimization

Zhenyu “James” Kong
Professor
Grado Dept. of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Virginia Tech
zkong@vt.edu

Chemoenzymatic Synthesis

Robert J. Linhardt
Ann and John H. Broadbent, Jr. ’59 Sr Constellation Professor of Biocatalysis & Metabolic Engineering
Depts of Chemistry & Chemical Biology, Biology, Chemical & Biological Engineering, and Biomedical Engineering
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
linhar@rpi.edu

Medicinal Chemistry

Jian Liu
John & Deborah McNeill, Jr. Distinguished Professor
Division of Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry
Eshelman School of Pharmacy
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
liuj@email.unc.edu

Polymer Synthesis

John Matson
Associate Professor
Dept. of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
jbmatson@vt.edu

Polymer Morphology

Robert Moore
Professor
Dept. of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
rbmoore3@vt.edu

Materials Synthesis

Michael Schulz
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
mdschulz@vt.edu

Atomistic Modeling

Valerie Welborn
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
vwelborn@vt.edu

Glycobiology and Glycoengineering

Fuming Zhang
Research Professor
Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
zhangf2@rpi.edu

Support Staff

Mark Baine
In-House Research Coordinator
Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
University of Georgia
mbaine@uga.edu
Lauren Mills
Program Coordinator
Fralin Life Sciences Institute
Virginia Tech
millsls@vt.edu

External Advisory Committee

Natalie Arnett
Associate Professor
Dept. of Chemistry
Florida A&M University
Natnael Behabtu
Global Technology Leader – Biomaterials
International Flavor and Fragrances (IFF)
Laura Kiessling
Novartis Professor of Chemistry
Dept. of Chemistry
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Roger A. Laine
Professor
Depts. of Biological Sciences, and Chemistry
Louisiana State University
Crystal Schrof
Senior Program Manager
Strata-G
Todd Talashek
Director of Fundamental Sciences
CP Kelco
Katherine Vorvolakos
Deputy Director
U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)